Laravel: Sending error message via Slack

I wanted a was to send error message from my Laravel application to a slack channel so I would know of issues before a user has to contact me. There were a lot of examples using Monolog SlackHandler, but you have to make an app and generate a token for it. From a note on this Stack Overflow thread I saw you can use webhooks now.

It was quite simple. Here’s how I set is up.

In the /app/Providers/AppServiceProvider.php file in the boot function I added:

// Send errors to slack channel
$monolog = Log::getMonolog();
if (!\App::environment('local')) {
 $slackHandler = new SlackWebhookHandler(env('SLACK_WEBHOOK'), '#development', 'App Alerts', false, 'warning', true, true, Logger::ERROR);
} else {
 $slackHandler = new SlackWebhookHandler(env('SLACK_WEBHOOK'), '@wes', 'App Alerts', false, 'warning', true, true, Logger::ERROR);
 }
 $monolog->pushHandler($slackHandler);

So now when I am developing the errors are sent directly to me, on production they are sent to the development channel.

2 thoughts on “Laravel: Sending error message via Slack

  1. I have followed your tuts but when i run i am getting this error
    Symfony \ Component \ Debug \ Exception \ FatalThrowableError (E_ERROR)
    Class ‘App\Providers\Log’ not found

Leave a Reply

